The Leibniz-IZW is managed by its scientific director Prof. Heribert Hofer and the managing director of the Forschungsverbund Berlin e.V., Martin Böhnke. Prof. Dr. Jörns Fickel and Dr. Miriam Brandt are the deputy directors.

Major decisions are made by the institute’s governing board, consisting of the director and the heads of the six departments. The board is advised by the head of administration, the head of public relations and the head of the science management unit.


Silke Ehle
Secretary of the director
Phone: +49(0)30 5168100
Emails: and